So I’ve Begun…

New Year’s Resolution No. 2: Finish my novel.

I’ve resolved to finish my first novel this year. In previous years, I thought about and talked about writing. I would sit down, open a brand new notebook, tap my freshly sharpened pencil against the edge of my desk, and come up with… nothing, not a single word. My mind was invariably rendered as blank as the page in the notebook. I would then abandon the idea of writing a novel and start reading someone else’s instead.

Walt Disney said, “The way to get started is to quit talking and begin doing.” This is easier said than done. However, I have at last stopped thinking and talking about writing. I’m finally doing it. I’ve begun filling those blank pages with words. Every fresh blank page is just as terrifying as the last but I’m determined to push through the fear.

What is it about the blank page that terrifies me so? Oh, it’s a long list. Right at the top of that list is a niggling fear that I’m not capable of creating a story that someone else might someday enjoy reading. It’s silly to worry about that now though, isn’t it? I’ve only just begun working on my story. For now, I’m simply going to focus on my resolution: Finish my novel.

7 thoughts on “So I’ve Begun…

  1. Good for you! Just do it! Sometimes when I’m blocked I just sit and think about what will come next or I do laps in the pool letting my mind wander on what will come next. Sometimes I try free writing. Fun!
    Thanks so much for following my blog – I’m honored. Stop by any time!

    Like

Leave a Reply

