A Little Rebellion

I was tagged in the Writer’s Ink Challenge by Ipuna Black. Thank you, Ipuna! You’ve given me a legitimate reason to talk about my novel-in-progress “Postcard from Paris.”

Writer’s Ink Challenge Rules:

Thank your nominator.

Again, thank you, Ipuna.

Answer at least 8 questions about writing.

Sure, no problem.

Nominate at least 5 people.

Well, here’s where I’m going to rebel against the rules. Typically, I’m not much of a rebel. Today, however, I’m going to bend these rules a little. Instead of nominating 5 more bloggers to take part in this challenge, I’m going to encourage anyone reading this post to give it a shot. Go on, I know you want to. Yes, you. You know who you are.

Okay then, without further ado, it’s time for the Q & A.

Q1 – What do I like most about writing?

I like that I’m the boss. When I sit down to work on my novel, I’m in charge of what happens on the page. I can control what comes next and how things turn out. The same can’t be said for my real life.

Q2 – What do I like least about writing?

I can honestly say that there isn’t anything I don’t like about writing. Now that I’ve conquered my fear of the blank page, writing is my favorite escape from reality.

Q3 – Have I written a novel before?

No. I thought about writing a novel for years but it took me a long time to pick up a pen and actually start doing it. Now that I’ve started, all the reasons that kept me from writing before seem silly.

Q4 – When did I start writing Postcard from Paris?

I started working on the story in January this year.

Q5 – What gave me the inspiration for Postcard from Paris?

In the movie Sabrina, the female lead says, “Paris is always a good idea.” I wholeheartedly agree with that statement. I love Paris. I miss Paris. Since I can’t pack up and move to Paris tomorrow, although I would if I could, I’m writing a story about a woman who finds a postcard from a mysterious aunt and travels to Paris to find her.

Q6 – What genre is Postcard from Paris? 

It’s not quite as lighthearted as most Chick Lit but not as heavy as some Women’s Fiction can be. I would say it’s something in between the two genres. There is some romance in the story but it isn’t all about getting the guy. It’s a story about life, change, family ties, and how we react when what we thought we knew for sure turns out to be a lie.

Q7 – How is Postcard from Paris written (first person, third person)?

It’s written in the first person. I enjoy reading novels written in the first person as well. “Can You Keep A Secret” by Sophie Kinsella was the first Chick Lit novel I ever read and it’s written in the first person. It also happens to be the novel that made me think about writing a story of my own.

Q8 – Did I outline and plot Postcard from Paris rigorously before I started writing or am I flying by the seat of my pants?

I had the outline in my head for years. The funny thing is that when I finally began writing, not just thinking about it, I found myself deviating from the plot I had in mind. I still know how Poppy Parker’s journey will end. But she’s going to take a couple of unexpected detours along the way.

Extra Question – What is my deadline for Postcard from Paris?

At this stage, I’ve written about two-thirds of the story. I’m hoping that I’ll type “The End” by the first of July this year.

That’s all from me for now. Have a fantastic Monday!

– Altea

7 thoughts on “A Little Rebellion

  1. Yeah, Altea! I don’t believe we have to follow rules on these challenges. I like your rebel side. 🙂 Isn’t it wonderful to escape to another place??? I visited Paris for the first time in December 2015. It’s a lovely place (minus the no garbage cans outside to prevent hiding of bombs 😦 ). I can see why you would like to go back. I’m so happy for your writing journey. Keep at it! Thanks for participating in the challenge. I liked reading about where you are at. We got a sneak peek into your book too!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. December 2015 was a dark time for Paris. Then again, these things are now happening all over the world, all the time. That’s why it’s so important to always fight to stay positive like you do. You’re an inspiration!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

